Idiosyncrasy of Garments and Décor.

Look around your room, it’s more than likely that you have a variety of different clothes there. Some from simple shops like ASDA’s and New Look. Others however, have more of a story. For example, as I’m writing this I’m looking at my blue pashmina with a slight paisley print on it. To the normal on looker it’s just a pretty scarf, to me, it’s so much more.

Because what people don’t know is that pretty blue scarf was a gift from my sister after she returned home from her trip to India. She told me about the spice markets, the people, the hustle and bustle of the street, the colours that surrounded her every day that took her breath away. so much so that every time I wear that pretty blue scarf, my imagination takes me away to that busy street in India, so I can smell the alluring odour of the spice market, so the colours of the culture can also take my breath away. it’s my daily vice. Now my sister has been to a lot of places, but my favourite place is South Africa. She visited tribes, rode elephants and brought me back some pretty amazing gifts. One was a hog-skin drum another a set of real porcupine spines, just to name a few. Now once again, every time I touch them I’m taken away to a far off land, where animals are treated like gods of the Serengeti and people who worship nature in it’s basic pagan forms of beauty. It’s amazing how an object can hurl your mind anywhere, any time. 

So, next time you see a garment you like, or even a decoration you like, instead of saying “That’s nice.” Ask “What’s the story behind that?”Image

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

